Links

 

Articles and Websites on House Concerts

East Bay Express, 5/14/14, “The Living Room Stage,” http://www.eastbayexpress.com/oakland/the-living-room-stage/Content?oid=3922270

Riverfront Times, 10/31/13, “For Touring Musicians, the Ease of Living-Room Concerts Prove There is No Place Like Someone Else’s Home,” http://www.riverfronttimes.com/2013-10-31/music/wood-house-concerts-living-room-shows/full/

Culturemap Austin, 2/16/12, “From Living Room to Listening Room: ‘House Concerts’ Offer Artists and Audiences an Alternative to Downtown Dives” http://austin.culturemap.com/newsdetail/02-16-12-19-32-from-living-room-to-listening-room-house-concerts-offer-artists-and-audiences-an-alternative/

Philadelphia Inquirer, 3/29/11, “Woodstock Generation Getting Its Music in Philadelphia-Area Homes” http://www.philly.com/philly/news/pennsylvania/118823709.html?page=1&c=y

Denver Post, 3/18/11, “Rock and Roll Delivered: Bringing It All Back Home with Living-Room Concerts” http://m.denverpost.com/denverpost/db_261957/contentdetail.htm?contentguid=H0FO5f6e&src=cat

Toronto Sun, 1/1/11, “Are House Concerts the Next Big Thing?”  http://www.thestar.com/entertainment/music/article/914453–are-house-concerts-the-next-big-thing

New York Times, 12/4/10, “For the Ultimate, Intimate Concert, Host It Yourself” http://www.nytimes.com/2010/12/05/us/05cnchouseconcert.html?_r=1&scp=1&sq=house%20concert&st=cse

San Francisco Chronicle, 1/14/10, “House Concerts an Alternative to Commercial Shows” http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?f=/c/a/2010/01/15/DDKR1B7RGB.DTL

San Francisco Chronicle, 11/29/10, “House of Blues … and folk, country, classical, rock …East Bay homeowners are opening their living rooms as music venues”  http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?f=/c/a/2000/06/02/EB13456.DTL

Concerts in Your Home is a website with house concert listings and tips for how to put on concerts.
www.concertsinyourhome.com


Other Bay Area House Concert Venues

We have a very active meetup.com group, http://www.meetup.com/Bay-Area-House-Concerts/

East Bay:

Wisteria Ways www.wisteriaways.org (Oakland)
Rose Street House of Music (Berkeley) www.rosestreetmusic.com, (510) 594-4000 Ext. MUS.
Sally Greenberg (Berkeley) www.sgreenberg.org/concerts.htm, (510) 644-2135.
Strings (Oakland) http://www.strings.org/
SYLA Presents (Oakland) www.facebook.com/pages/SYLA-Presents/198863890145181
Avonova (Oakland) www.avonovamusic.com
Fifth Street Farms (Berkeley) www.fifthstreetfarms.com
Boat House Concerts (Oakland) www.boathouseconcerts.org
K Street House Concert Series, http://kstreetconcerts.com (Livermore)
Millenium House, rockncabby@aol.com (Berkeley)
Concerts Off The Circle http://www.concertsoffthecircle.com

Marin:

Acoustic Vortex (Larkspur) www.acousticvortex.com

San Francisco:
Chez Hanny  http://chezhanny.com
KC Turner http://kcturnermusic.com (Marin and San Francisco)
450 Live!  http://450live.com
Carriage House Concerts http://www.carriagehouseconcerts.org/

South Bay:

Acoustic Tune-Ups at Joe’s Garage ( San Mateo) E-mail tuneupsatjoes@gmail.com
Blue Rock House Concerts (Menlo Park) www.bluerockhouseconcerts.com
Mountain View House Concerts http://shrub.ca/pipermail/mountainview-houseconcerts
Music Near The Hearth (Sunnyvale) www.musicnearthehearth.com
The Woodshed (Los Gatos) www.woodshed.org

Leave a Comment